older-contact-homeland-me-notes

11.01.01-8:03 p.m.>

By Nature...

man is a political animal

whatever that was supposed to mean

She was ditzy my political theory teacher that senior year of HS.

I never really paid attention

I spent more time pondering Ben Folds 5 and which track on Hello Nasty I loved the best, and whether or not I would ever seen another weezer album, and that boy, THAT BOY, on the other side of the classroom. That boy who made it worth the trip to school every day, without ever saying a word to me. How much I liked him and how I knew it was so completely idiotic of me to feel that way because there were rules.

Rules.

Oddly enough my teacher, in her own weird way was explaining these rules, how things worked, or could work, or were destined to work, meant to work, in the eyes of other people. Great Thinkers. Philosophers even.

All I could do was stare at the walls and hope that If I decided to stare at him, he'd have his head buried inside his notebook. Most of the time he didnt, and I just wound up looking creepy.

She was so young that teacher,wide eyed,trying to make us think critically and learn cooperatively.

Maybe I was my own philosopher in 7th period Political Theory. Maybe I was ten steps ahead of everyone else when I noticed, that I could never have him because things like that just dont happen.

Boys like that, girls like me.

The world is a funny place.