older-contact-homeland-me-notes

02.11.02-2:51 p.m.>

So my mother had a friend from high school who was an Officer for the Port Authority,she passed on Sept 11th, it was her 15 yr anniversary of graduation from the academy. She was the FIRST female officer of the Port Authority to be killed in the line of duty. They found her on Saturday along with 4 other missing officers.

Sometimes I really wonder. What will come of everything going on Afghanistan ?

What good will come out of the fight we're fighting ?

I know that Im childish, and naive.

But what is it we're trying to solve ? Are we really just trying to poke them back, for poking us first ?

I watched The West Wing for the first time last week.

There was a very poignant scene between this Speech Writer Guy and his wife. In reference to Islamic Extremism,and an international distaste towards the US, he said something like..."They will not respect us, until we win". Maybe thats what we need to do.

Win.

For people like my mothers lost friend Kathy, who shot out windows on the mezzanine level of Tower 1 so people could run out of the building easier.

For people like my mothers lost friend Tara, who worked on the 90 something floor of one of the towers and has a 6 month old daughter who will never know her in anything other than frozen moments captured in framed pictures.

For their memory.

For the City of New York, because its constantly breathtaking, and lifegiving, and amazingly resilient

For all the children in the country,because they deserve to be able to sleep at night, knowing their parents will be there when they wake up.

For me, because nobody has the right to make me feel as violated and confused and truly frightened as I was that day.

For you,because you have big plans. You have places to be. So do I. No one should ever have the kind of power that makes us afraid to get to those places.

For tomorrow, because we all really need to move on.

and with that I end my rant.