older-contact-homeland-me-notes

03.10.02-12:30 a.m.>

My brother bought the Billy Joel's Greatest Hits Collection, Im reading the track listing on the back of the box and realizing that I pretty much know 96% of all these songs, word for word for word.

Growing up here on Long Island I guess its kind of hard to avoid his music,because he IS this place, and I've probably said this before, but everyone born on this fish shaped land mass is a walking Billy Joel lyric.

All tiny little Brendas and Eddies.

(But then again.....maybe its not just Long Island. Maybe it holds true to the entire nation. Its boggling to my mind that one man can be so relevant, if thats the right word. You people are gonna have to fill me on what this man means to the rest of the world.)

You can go ahead and call me lame,I mean, yea, Im talking about Billy Joel. It's really freaking me out kids, I guess I never realized what an impact/influence he has on a Long Island kid. Do you know one or two ? Start asking around, its kinda creepy.

-

Did I just write an entire entry about Billy Joel ????