older-contact-homeland-me-notes

04.16.02-2:41 p.m.>

When I was in high school my Grandmother had a Stroke, and became seriously ill/hospitalized. My mother scrambled to get a flight and like it was nothing, at a moments notice, the drop of a hat, she was down in W. Palm Beach, frolicking with the old folk,and standing by my Grandmothers Side, helping her get better...

...and I was SO pissed.

I was 14, maybe 15, and extremely self centered. I remember sitting on the couch in the living room of our old house and just crying to my mother.

"How could you do this TO ME ??"

As if, infact, it was an evil plot to remove the one grownup I trusted from my life. Like the Stroke was a planned event, and my Nana wanted nothing more than to not be able to move for weeks.

I feel like a complete asshole for making her feel so bad about it in retrospect.