older-contact-homeland-me-notes

05.15.02-12:06 a.m.>

I couldnt bring myself to get rid of my blue album poster...Its all big and blue,and there are teeny glow in the dark star stickers above every member of the bands head. But I did take down the banner,wall hang, thing, and my heart sank into my stomach.

I got that thing when I was 15.

Cole said this, in her most recent entry: "Know what's even worse than people who start liking something (I'm mostly referring to music here) because it's popular? People who stop liking something because it becomes popular. Give me a fucking break."

...and I wondered if I could apply that to myself.

Is the reason I have such a distaste for the =w= solely because other kids, younger kids(hundreds of thousands of them even)are suddenly in love with them ?

I guess it all started with, yes, the Green Album, and how fucking horrible it was, and how I kind of felt betrayed waiting for it,when it was clearly just...SHIT.

Then...all the press Rivers did in which he dissed his fans.

You cant just gloss over that kids.

You cant.

HOW ARE PEOPLE SUPPORTING HIM ???

IT HURTS MY BRAIN.

People have been consistently asking me..."Are you going to buy the new album ?"

For the record...

NO.

I will not make the purchase.

I look at my room now, and the massive undertaking that is the cleaning of it, I look at my walls,and think back 7 years.

It all boils down to being able to let things go.

And it is official...today, I am finally washing my hands of the weezer.

The first CD I ever owned.

The first CD I ever fell asleep listening to.

Two albums that I've had had long term relationships with.

Infectious melodies..

Lyrics to live by.

The soundtrack, to my coming of age.

Sweet geek rock, gone horribly wrong.

Its a been good run guys, but Im sorry it's over.

And let us never ever ever speak of this again, unless Matt Sharp wins his lawsuit, then we can all do the dance of joy Perfect Strangers Style.

THE END