older-contact-homeland-me-notes

06.26.02-10:01 a.m.>

I decided while driving along the Robert Moses Causeway, where on your left you have the beaches and the ocean.... and your right you have the bay, and past the Great South Bay, Long Island, I decided that as much as I might argue about it, and complain...

That I am very lucky to live where I live, and be able to drive 15 minutes, and be near the ocean.

People pay to live nearer to it for this time of the year.

Infact, I feel very badly for the kids in the middle of America, who cant smell the salt of the water in the windows at night, and the tides changing.

Something about this place that makes me who I am, and I have to make peace with it at some point.

So Im diving under waves this summer,instead of letting them knock me backwards towards the shore, and getting my head wet and not caring, and driving home with the taste of salt all over my face and hands, and sand still sticking to my toes. Im driving with the windows open, instead of the AC on, because Im filled with something in these past few days, thats oddly satisfying, and I wish I knew how to explain it.