older-contact-homeland-me-notes

12.26.02-6:05 p.m.>

So its the end of the year again, and its time for Melissa to compile her year in review....

Top 5 favorite Albums

5-Mirah-Advisory Committee

4-Matesof State-Our Constant Concern

3-Queens of the Stone Age-Songs for the Deaf

2-The Flaming Lips- Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots

1-Bright Eyes-Lifted...

Favorite Books

You Shall Know Our Velocity was hands down the best book I read in 2002.

This book was very real for me, and I kept having to put it down, because I didnt want for it to be over.

Michael Moore's Stupid White Men was also very impressive. But then again, everything he does leaves an impression on me.

I also read a great deal of books this year that didnt necessarily have their releases in 2002, but I would reccommend anyhow...

Anything in theSeries of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. These books are fun, smart, and witty as hell. These are what the smarter kids are reading nowadays.

I became obsessed with Daniel Handler(Lemony Snicket) this year, if only because I feel he has a sense for narration quite like no other contemporary writers.

His grownup books are very different from the SOUE mentioned above.

If you have the time I'd highly suggest...

Watch Your Mouth(which I caution is a little dirty) Best described as a literary opera about a boy who travels with his college girlfriend home for the summer and discovers her family is verrrrry close.

-and-

The Basic Eight This is Handler's first novel. Which I loved, but not as much as the first. It's the diary of a highschool girl. A little bit Heathers, A little bit Fight Club. A little bit country, a little bit rock n roll. Ok well maybe not the last two.

But yea !

Anyhow,

Daniel Handler, Daniel Handler, Daniel Handler.

Things I hated,

The Mallpunkification of the United States of America kinda made me shudder. Seeing New Found Glory on Nickelodeon reallllly pissed me off.

The whole "Garage Rock" thing makes me wanna vomit. The Strokes, The Hives, The Vines,The White Stripes Especially. Its alll been done (a wooo hooo hooo). Alls I can do is slap my forehead.

Anyways...

If I can think of more, I will let you know.